FAQs

Q

What are my state laws on purchasing firearms?

A
State Permit to Purchase Handguns? Permit to Purchase Rifles? Permit to Possess Firearms? Registration of Firearms? Assault Weapons Ban? Waiting Period? Other Restrictions?
Alabama No No No No No No None
Alaska No No No No No No None
Arizona No No No NFA Weapons Only No No None
Arkansas No No No No No No None
California No No No Handguns Only Yes Yes None
Colorado No No No No Only in Denver No None
Connecticut Yes No No Assault Weapons Only Yes No None
Delaware No No No No No No No Civilian NFA Weapon Ownership
Florida No No No No No Yes (3 day, handguns without CCW) None
Georgia No No No No No No None
Hawaii Yes Yes Yes Yes No "Assault Pistols" Yes 10 round magazine limit
Idaho No No No No No No None
Illinois Yes Yes Yes No Yes (Cook County) Yes No NFA except AOW, 10 round magazine limit (Cook county)
Indiana No No No No No No No Short Barreled Shotguns
Iowa Yes No No No No Yes (3 days) No NFA Weapons
Kansas No No No No No No None
Kentucky No No No No No No None
Louisiana No No No No No No None
Maine No No No No No No None
Maryland No No No Yes Sale and Transfer of Assault Weapons regulated by police Yes (Assault Rifles and NFA) Sale of new magazines larger than 20 rounds prohibited, no "assault pistols"
Massachusetts Yes Yes Yes No Yes No 4 firearms per year
Michigan Yes No No Yes No No None
Minnesota No Yes No No No AW Owner Under 18 No None
Mississippi No No No No No No None
Missouri No No No No No No None
Montana No No No No No No None
Nebraska Yes No No Yes (Omaha) No No None
Nevada No No No No* No No *Concealed Carry weapons must be registered in Clark County
New Hampshire No No No No No No None
New Jersey Yes Yes Yes No Yes One Handgun per 30 days 15 round magazine limit
New Mexico No No No No No No None
New York Yes No Yes (Except rifle / shotgun outside NYC) Yes (Handgun only) Yes No None
North Carolina Yes No No No No No None
North Dakota No No No No No No None
Ohio No No No No No No Magazines over 31 rounds make firearm "automatic weapon" and subject to restrictions
Oklahoma No No No No No No None
Oregon No No No No No No None
Pennsylvania No No No No No No No Explosive DD
Rhode Island No No No No No Yes None
South Carolina No No No No No No None
South Dakota No No No NFA Weapons only No Yes None
Tennessee No No No No No No None
Texas No No No No No No None
Utah No No No No No No None
Vermont No No No No No No None
Virginia No No No No No No One handgun every 30 days without concealed carry permit
Washington No No No No No Yes (5 Days for handguns without concealed carry eprmit) No NFA to civilians (except silencers)
West Virginia No No No No No No None
Wisconsin No No No No No Yes None
Wyoming No No No No No No None
*